Body Image

A friend posted a quote by Maya Angelou from her poem Phenomenal Woman the other day. This is a poem that I’m familiar with and the lines always stuck with me. Fortunately for me, she posted it just when I needed the reminder.

Pretty women wonder where my secret lies.
I’m not cute or built to suit a fashion model’s size
But when I start to tell them,
They think I’m telling lies.
I say,
It’s in the reach of my arms,
The span of my hips,
The stride of my step,
The curl of my lips.
I’m a woman
Phenomenally.
Phenomenal woman, that’s me.
image

I’ve talked about how the change in my lifestyle has made me look different, but honestly the change is mostly internal. I still thought I looked pretty good, but I didn’t feel good.  When I’m not working out and eating well I don’t feel in control. I don’t feel as strong.

benchpress-bear
I enjoy the look of a strong woman – I’ll admit it, if you’re a female friend of mine and have nice biceps or defined shoulders, I’ve totally checked them out.
whatwomenthink
So, yes, I enjoy how look when I’m fitter and more muscular. But honestly, mostly I love how I feel.  You know how I mentioned the other day that I worked out and then immediately felt 10 feet tall and bullet proof? It’s that feeling that I love about being fit. That feeling that I can put my mind to something and conquer it. I can work harder and lift heavier weights, I can do more pushups the next time. Its a constant contest with yourself, and most days your winning. I love it.
I love the feeling I get when I know that I am doing the things that I need for my health- eating well, exercising, getting enough sleep, taking my vitamins, drinking lots of water. When I manage to balance this perfect storm of things I feel great. And that’s what 21 Days is really about.
image (2)
Leave a Reply

