Now what?

After successfully completing my goal of re-committing to a healthy lifestyle for 21 days, I’m now sitting on the other side of 21. If you don’t remember, or didn’t read, I chose 21 days because apparently it takes that long to form a habit, and I wanted to make healthy choices a habit in my life again.

Well, I can say that I feel like I succeeded. I left town for the weekend to visit a friend for the weekend, and was afraid that all my work would go down the toilet. That I’d binge eat bad food and lose all my progress. Well, I didn’t. I didn’t spend the weekend stressed because my meals weren’t properly balanced or fretting about what I ate either. I focused on spending quality time with my best friend and trying to be healthy ish, but kind to myself.

20130715-185304.jpg

I didn’t eat perfectly, or worry about perfectly balancing my meals for the weekend, I just ate what was available and tried to make good choices. It was perfect. I dipped my hand into a bowl of munchies too many times. But, at breakfast, I ate a vegetarian omelette with rye toast, and left the hash browns on my plate. I had sushi one night for dinner, and had something called sushi pizza which I’d never heard of before, but it was delicious.

I relaxed, had quality time, and a pedicure that I’m pretty sure made me reach nirvana.

20130715-184451.jpg

I didn’t work out, but, I did do some push-ups and sit-ups in my room one morning before getting dressed. I hit a personal best in push-ups to boot! Those darn things have always been a challenge for me, even at peak fitness.

20130715-192428.jpg

I’m not looking to be perfect, but I am looking to make better choices most of the time, and I think I’m on my way.

One thought on “Now what?

Leave a Reply

