Doin’ it at home….

I haven’t written, but I have been plugging away at my fitness pursuits, but I hit some roadblocks. First was a cold, then two days after getting better there was another one…. Then the stomach flu. Those things over such a short period pretty much drained my motivation. I was holding on by a thread and just didn’t have it in me to write about health and fitness when I was feeling anything but healthy. I hate to sit (write?) and complain, so I just kept silent.

But there were a lot of bright spots: I found a decent gym! 20 minute drive away, friendly staff, beautiful new equipment, not too crowded. Exactly what I’ve been looking for. Except for 20 minutes is a little far when you add in rush hour, which doubles the drive, hence pretty much making the evening and weekends the only good time to work out. I want to make sure that working out isn’t a chore and make it as easy as possible…. So I found another solution.

20131012-202410.jpg

My own gym!

I’ve pushed all my furniture to one side, hung a mirror (my old living room mirror haha) and moved everything around to make some extra space.

20131012-210651.jpg

I can’t tell you how absolutely wonderful it is having weights in my basement. I’ve said it before, TRX is a great workout but it just doesn’t make my heart sing. When I lift weights, I feel like this:

20131012-211514.jpg

TRX makes me feel more like this:

20131012-212428.jpg

Given that weight lifting truly makes me happy, I’m feeling a little stupid for not doing this earlier. Cost wise, I’ve spent about 6 months membership fees to the gym that I found, so I feel like I’m ahead of the game.

I’d still like to purchase an adjustable bench (I’m using a stability ball in place of a bench now, but it is tough when lifting really heavy to put weights down without dropping them or wiggling to sit up, but maybe I just need more practice?), an Olympic barbell, some more weights and maybe a medicine ball. Honestly though, I can do pretty much everything with what I have now. My current inventory includes a variety of resistance bands, stability ball, TRX, dumbbells (2×12, 2×15, 2×20, 2×25 and 2×30), mats, foam roller, an Olympic EZ curl bar, some weights for it, jump rope and fast rope, and coming soon a box jump.

What have you done to make working out fool proof in your life?

Leave a Reply

