Creamy Pumpkin Protein Muffins

Last weekend, I came up with pretty much my most genius cooking idea ever. ever. seriously. An idea so delicious, I can’t believe I didn’t think about it sooner. Creamy Pumpkin Protein Muffins. I used Jamie Eason’s pumpkin protein bars recipe, which I modified a little and obviously turned it into muffins.

20131014-154608.jpg

Jamie Eason’s pumpkin protein bars are my favourite, but I omit the fake sugar from her recipe and add extra pumpkin instead of apple sauce. Both ways taste great.

20131014-154741.jpg

These will be my afternoon snack for the week.

These fulfill my sweet tooth, my obsession with all things pumpkin, and give me the willpower to walk by the Starbucks Pumpkin Cream Cheese muffin display.

In addition to my delicious muffins, I also prepared some overnight oatmeal (cold creamy oatmeal). I mixed 1 cup of plain Greek yogurt with 1 stevia packet and 1 tsp of instant coffee. I really like Liberte Café Latte yogurt, but it has 20g of sugar per serving! Eeek! This is my way of approximating the same taste, but with extra protein and less sugar.

20131014-155632.jpg

To my yogurt mixture I will add 1.5 cups of large flake oatmeal, and 1/2 cup of frozen cherries. I will do these additions nightly, as I don’t like how it tastes when it sits for longer than overnight. Greek yogurt and oatmeal is a great meal, lots of protein, and slow burning carbohydrates to keep you full for a long time.

My main lunch meal is 1 chicken breast, 1 serving of rice noodles in Thai spices and steamed green beans.

20131014-160202.jpg

And there you have it. Another weeks worth of food. I’ll add it some additional green veggies (likely I’ll cut up some cucumbers, red and yellow peppers) and I’ll be done.

It’s been three straight weeks of great workouts at 5am and I am excited to pair these workouts with a great meal plan.

What are you eating this week? Do you pre-cook any of your food?

Leave a Reply

